New Order- Power, Corruption and Lies (1983)

Here is the gorgeous FACT 75. New Order’s second LP is a fantastic record that saw them wade deeper into dance and electronica. The music has trance like qualities and Bernard Sumner described it as ‘a pounds shillings and pence (as in L.S.D ?) type of record’.
It is also, in its original form, a beautiful and enigmatic object.
The cover shows a painting by the 19th century French artist Henri Fantin -Latour. The LP was often referred to as the roses album, and the sleeve featured no text.
Designer Peter Saville created a colour-based code to represent the band's name and the title of the album, and the decoder was featured prominently on the back cover of the album. The blocks of colour can therefore be read, on the front cover as FACT 75 and on the inner sleeve as Power Corruption And Lies New Order.
In case you too young to know or too old to remember the line up:
Bernard Sumner – Vocals, guitars, melodica, synthesizers & programming
Peter Hook – 4 & 6 stringed bass, electronic percussion
Stephen Morris – Drums, synthesizers & programming
Gillian Gilbert – Synthesizers & programming, guitars


  1. Thanks a lot! y'r excellent!

  2. Is this from vinyl? You've got amazing stuff here, thanks for sharing.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.